Rasputin Translated: Life of an Experienced Wanderer (Part 1)

May 1907

When I lived first, so to say, in the world until the age of 28, I was with the world, that is I loved the world and that which is in the world, and I was just and sought consolation from a worldly point of view. I walked much in convoys, carted people much and caught fish and plowed the land. Truly that is all good for the farmer! Many afflictions I had: where a mistake was made, it was as if mine, but I had nothing at all to do with it. In cooperatives [I] endured various ridicules. I plowed in earnest and slept little, and all the while in my heart wondered how to find how people are saved. I will look for example at priests – no, somehow this is not it; sings and reads briskly, loudly, like a man chops wood with an axe. So I had to think much: although lean I am, Lord.

So I went on a pilgrimage, and so I was quick to look into life; everything interested me, good and bad, and I weighed (considered), but there was nobody to ask what it means. Much I travelled and weighed, that is, tried everything in life. In pilgrimage I had to often endure all kinds of troubles and adversity, it happened that murderers undertook against me, that there were various pursuits, but to all the Lord’s mercy! Either [they] would say my clothes were not fine, or the detractors of unrighteousness would fall into suspicion of something. From lodgings I would leave from midnight, while the enemy, jealous of various kind deeds, would send some disturber, who would get acquainted and take something from the owner, but the pursuit would be after me, and all of this I lived through! And the perpetrator is immediately found. More than once wolves attacked, but they scattered. More than once likewise predators attacked, wanted to rob me, but I told them: “This is not mine, all God’s, you take it from me and I will help you, giving gladly”, something would especially tell in their hearts, they would think and say: “Where are you from and what is with you?”. “I am a human – a sent brother to you and dedicated to God”. It is sweet to write this now, but I actually had to survive all [this].

I walked 40-50 versts (1 verst = 1.07 km) a day and did not ask for storm, not wind, nor Rain. I rarely got to eat, through Tambov Governorate on only potatoes, I did not have with me capital and never saved: God would have to send, [someone] will allow me to lodge – there I will eat. This way more than once I walked to Kyiv from Tobolsk, not changing underwear for half a year and not laying hands on the flesh – these are clandestine shackles, that is I did them for experience and test. Not rarely I walked for three days straight, eating only a little. On hot days I imposed on myself the fast: I did not drink kvas (fermented rye beverage), but worked with day labourers, just like them; [I] worked and ran for rest to pray. When[ I] herded horses – prayed. This comfort served me for one and for all.


Original text:

Когда я жил сперва, как говорится, в мире до 28 лет, то был с миром, то есть любил мир и то, что в мире и был справедлив и искал утешения с мирской точки зрения. Много в обозах ходил, много ямщичал и рыбу ловил и пашню пахал. Действительно это все хорошо для крестьянина! Много скорбей было мне: где бы какая сделалась ошибка, будто как я, а я вовсе не причем. В артелях переносил разные насмешки. Пахал усердно и мало спал, а все же таки в сердце помышлял как бы чего найти как люди спасаются. Посмотрю по поводу примеров на священников – нет, все что-то не то; поет и читает резво, громко, как мужик дрова рубит топором. Вот мне и пришлось подумать много: хоть худой да Батюшка.

Вот я и пошел паломничать, а так был быстрый вглядываться в жизнь; все меня интересовало, хорошее и худое, я и вешал, а спросить не у кого было что значит? Много путешествовал и вешал, то есть проверял все в жизни. В паломничестве мне приходилось переносить нередко, всякие беды и напасти, так приходилось, что убийцы предпринимали против меня, что разные были погони, но на все милость Божья! то скажут одежда неладна, то в чем-нибудь да забудутся клеветники неправды. С ночлега уходил с полуночи, а враг завистлив всяким добрым делам, пошлет какого-нибудь смутителя, он познакомится, чего ни будь у хозяина возьмет, а за мной погоня, и все это пережито мною! а виновник тотчас же находится. Не один раз нападали волки, но они разбегались. Не один раз также нападали хищники, хотели обобрать я им сказывал: “Это не мое, а все Божье, вы возьмите у меня, я вам помощник, с радостью отдаю”, им что-то особенно скажет в сердцах их, они подумают и скажут: “Откуда ты и что такое с тобой?” “Я человек – посланный брат вам и преданный Богу”. Теперь это сладко писать, а на деле-то пришлось пережить все.

Я шел по 40-50 верст в день и не спрашивал ни бури, ни ветра, ни Дождя. Мне редко приходилось кушать, по Тамбовской губернии на одних картошках, не имел с собой капитала и не собирал во век: придется Бог пошлет, с ночлегом пустят – тут и покушаю. Так не один раз приходил в Киев из Тобольска, не переменял белья по полугоду и не налагал руки до тела – это вериги тайные, то есть это делал для опыта и испытания. Нередко шел по три дня, вкушал только самую малость.В жаркие дни налагал на себя пост: не пил квасу, а работал с поденщиками, как и они; работал и убегал на отдохновение на молитву. Когда коней пас — молился. Это отрада мне послужила за все и про все.

Courtesy of http://www.omolenko.com

Leave a comment